History of Saint Cyprian Parish

History of Saint Cyprian Parish

Founded: January 27, 2000

Saint Cyprian parish is a consolidation of several parishes. The history of our parish spans more than 125 years:

  • Our Lady of the Rosary, Founded 1886
  • Our Lady of Victory, Founded 1899
  • Transfiguration of Our Lord, Founded 1909
  • Saint Carthage, Founded 1915
  • Saint Cyprian, Founded 2000
  • Our Lady of the Blessed Sacrament, Founded 2005

The members of Saint Cyprian Parish bring both the love of their former parishes and their spirit of faith and hope to the creation of yet a new and expanded faith community. The territory encompassed by this new parish, includes a vast portion of West Philadelphia and almost 2000 persons, young to "seasoned."

Already active and alive, our new parish moves forward in UNITY, FAITH AND HOPE.

Who is St. Cyprian?

ST. CYPRIAN was born an African nobleman about 200 A.D. He converted to Christianity. Later he became a priest then a bishop. He directed the church during a time of persecution, always stressing the theme of UNITY.

Prayer of Saint Cyprian

Almighty God, we are reminded through your servant, St.Cyprian, of Your Spirit always within us and your continued presence in us and of our oneness with you and the Church. May we always grow together and profess You in FAITH, UNITY, and HOPE, guided by the Holy Spirit. We ask this through Christ, our Lord. Amen.